How Revealing! (BLOG)

Nature(Psa 19:14 NIV) “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”

God is continually revealing Himself to us in many ways.  In Psalm 19, the poetry and grandeur of God’s revelation is made manifest.

For those who say they can’t understand God, first you must look into the starry heavens and at the luscious beauty of the earth.  The Psalmists says “The heavens declare the glory of God” (Psalm 19:1).  This declaration is continuous, so if at first you do not see Him, meditate more deeply until you experience the incredible design of our Designer.  Creation speaks in a universal language so that all can understand.

Now look at the Sun; not too long mind you, because it is both brilliant and powerful.  It is a simple, yet poignant example of God’s existence and His creative rule.  The Sun reveals the radiant omnipotence of our Creator (Psalm 19:4b-6).

If that is not enough, then our active and present God speaks to us through His prophets in the Word of God.  His Word is perfect, trustworthy, right, radiant, pure, sure, precious, and sweet.  The revealed Word revives our souls, makes us wise, gives joy to our hearts, lights our path, helps us to endure, and satisfies our hunger (Psalm 19:7-10)

Ultimately, God reveals Himself anew to us through Christ: “But in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom he made the universe.  The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word” (Hebrews 1:2-3a NIV).

Upon receiving the revelation of God, our response can only be to bow down in worship, and with grateful hearts acknowledge Him in our limited understanding: “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty” (Isa 6:5 NIV).  Glorious revelation!

Even today, our God has not left us without a witness.  He is constantly reaching out to us through the witness of the Holy Spirit, the preached word and the Sacraments, trying to reconcile us to Him through Christ so that we might have life and live it to the full.  Let us pray to our Lord seeking forgiveness, repenting of our evil ways, and meditating on His revelation.

Prayer

Father, may the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in Your sight.  I see and know You in Your creation; I see and know You in the Word and Sacrament; and, I see You and know You in Your Son, Jesus Christ, whom I have come to so that I might have life.   Cleanse me through the work of Christ’s Cross, and grant me Your salvation through Jesus, my Lord, amen.

(c) Paul Dordal, 2013

Leave a Reply

