God’s Grace Is Not Fair

godsgrace“I am not being unfair to you, friend” (Mt. 20:13b, NIV).

In the parable of the workers in the field, Jesus confronts a natural human tendency to sometimes perceive someone else’s undeserved blessings as unfair. But God’s grace is not fair. Jesus says it clearly, “Are you jealous because I pour out my grace on all?” I said this to some of my patients recently, and I need to say it to myself every day: “If God’s grace does not apply to all, it doesn’t apply to me.”

© Paul Dordal, 2013

Leave a Reply

