World Without Bombs, Amen, Amen (Reflection)

Plows Into PlowsharesIn George Carlin’s satirical comedy rant against the idea of global warning, he says that a resilient earth is not intimated by un-recycled plastic.  The earth, George Carlin notes, is so resilient that it will create a new paradigm if need be:  earth plus plastic.

When I went to war in Iraq I was suddenly confronted with the constant din of gunfire, and, more distressingly, daily bombings.  Even though I had previously ministered for several years in a violent city in America, nothing can compare to being in an active combat zone.  While serving in Baghdad I, along with my brothers and sisters, had to create a new paradigm to be resilient: world plus bombs or world with bombs.   After a while I no longer feared the bombings, and soon began sleeping through the air raid sirens announcing “Incoming, Incoming, Incoming!”

One of the difficulties of returning from war is that many of us had gotten so used to a world with bombs, it was hard to readjust to a world without bombs.  Lately, I have been reflecting deeply on the person of Jesus, who is, as Isaiah announced, the Prince of Peace.  Without a relationship with Jesus, the giver of deep, spiritual peace, I don’t know how I would have readjusted to life after war. And now I hear Jesus call me ever clearer to become a peacemaker, to help create a world without bombs and violence for all.  Because no one should have to get used to a world with bombs.

Maybe we can pray the Gloria Patri this way to remind us all of that call:

“Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Ghost.
As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be:
World without bombs, Amen, Amen.”

© Paul Dordal, 2013

Leave a Reply

