God Loves Zombies, And You Should Too! (Reflection)

zombieThe Online Dictionary defines a zombie as a “body of a dead person given the semblance of life.” The simplest definition of a zombie is “the walking dead.” With those definitions in mind, I must say that there are a lot of zombies in the world today.

I was just with my family at the mall in Monroeville, PA (location of the original Dawn of the Dead movie) when I realized, figuratively, that the mall was once again filled with zombies.

The Bible says that apart from Christ we are literally walking dead: “As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient” (Eph. 2:1-2). We are all zombies until we come to Christ. But “because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ…” (Eph 2:4).

As I walked the mall looking at the zombies, I asked myself, “Do I love these zombies like God loves them?” I realized that I didn’t, and so I prayed that God would reorient my heart and mind to love zombies like He does. His Word says that He is “not willing that any [zombie] perish, but that all should come to repentance” (2 Pet 3:9) and He “wants all [zombies] to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth” (1 Tim 2:4).

I am reminded of that great promise of God in John 3:16, “For God so loved all the [zombies] in the world, that He gave them Jesus, that if they would just put their trust in Him, they would not perish, but have everlasting life.”

(c) Paul Dordal, 2012

Leave a Reply

