Paying Attention (Video Meditation)

2 thoughts on “Paying Attention (Video Meditation)

  1. John Knapp II November 15, 2015 / 7:13 pm

    Paul,
    I was Martha’s former SS teacher in Oswego.
    I enjoyed your brief video. It reminds me of what seems to be God’s intention for the Sabbath Day, the 7th day, a day of rest, not performance. I contend that the Sabbath still matters, and was “shelved,” or converted by the Roman Catholic Church to Sunday which, by the way, is never mentioned in the Bible. In fact the Catholics in the 4th century forbade Sabbath (7th day) observance on penalty of excommunication. Today we follow the Catholic tradition, not the Biblical one which began long before Moses and the the 10 commandments. Why would God “waste” a whole commandment on “stopping” once a week, if such canceling of everything else except, say private and family reflection (and changing baby diapers)? Yes, we still can “perform” in church on Sunday and work the rest of the week.
    No, I am not a 7th Day Adventist, but they do make a point.
    I’m exploring this point in my new sci/fi Christian novel THE BLOOD OF THREE WORDS (in ms). Martha may remember my previous novel, EARTH IS NOT ALONE, and my book of poems, A PILLAR OF PEPPER (see Amazon).
    I appreciate your attacking the frenzy of everyday life! Many of us have lost something that matters.

    –John Knapp II, PhD
    adozenseconds.com

    Like

  2. Paul Dordal November 16, 2015 / 2:59 pm

    Hi John. Thank you for your thoughtful response. I have heard Martha speak about you often. I remember she produced and directed a play you wrote at one of the church’s I pastored in the past. My son Micah played Joseph when he was three years. Old.

    I read a great book called The Sabbath by Rabbi Abraham Heschel a few years ago, and it really helped me to understand more deeply how important God’s “creation” of Sabbath rest is for us. I do think that the Church overall has missed this opportunity, especially as it relates to establishing God’s Kingdom “on earth as it is in heaven.”

    In response to the recent horrible tragedies in France, Lebanon, Egypt, etc., Martha asked me how we could wage peace instead of war. Reestablishing a Spirit-inspired Sabbath would be a significant start. Please let me know when your new book comes out. I would be very interested in reading it.

    Blessings,
    Paul

    Like

Leave a Reply

