She’s Got The Whole World In Her Hands

full-moonAs I have been trying to pay attention more, I am mindful of the moon and the stars each morning as I make my way to the hospital. Yesterday, the moon was very full and hanging low in the dark hours of early morning.  The moon was so bright that it was able to cause a shadow to be cast from my car on the highway.

But what I noticed this morning was the roundness of the moon, its circular and complete beauty.  I imagined that it got so round because God took it like a lump of clay and rolled it ‘round and ‘round the palm of her hands.  I thought of this because as a child I used to roll Play-Doh into perfect little balls in the palms of my hand.

I then reflected on how God rolled me together good and unique from a cosmic ball of clay, and molded me in the palms of his hands.

Now, I know that science has a factual and more accurate description of how the moon came to be so round.  But my answer, my description of the creation of the moon and me, of Play-Doh and Silly Putty, is far truer than science could ever be.

© Paul Dordal, 2015

Leave a Reply

