I am I and You are You and We are We

trinity abstract“If I am I because I am only I, and you are you because you are only you, then I am only I and you are only you. And, if I am I because you are you, and you are you because I am I, then I am not I and you are not you. But, if I am I because I am I for you, and you are you because you are you for me, then I can be I and you can be you and we can truly be we.” [i]

© Paul Dordal, 2016

[i] I adapted this from Rabbi Mendel, in light of the truth that I can only be my truest self in intersubjectivity (especially in committed relationships like my marriage).

 

 

Leave a Reply

